City of Salmon Arm Councillor Tim Lavery appointed to CSRD Board

Thursday, December 17, 2020

The New Year will bring a new, but familiar, face to the Columbia Shuswap Regional District's (CSRD) Board of Directors. 

Salmon Arm City Councillor Tim Lavery will be taking on the role of CSRD Director after swearing his Oath of Office in a virtual ceremony on December 17, 2020. Lavery, who was already an Alternate CSRD Director, is now a full-fledged member of the Board, replacing Director Chad Eliason.

"I’m looking forward, as one of the two Salmon Arm representatives to the CSRD, to the opportunity to share leadership in furthering a vibrant, liveable and sustainable region. I’ll work hard and collaboratively to do that," said Lavery. 

Lavery's first CSRD Board Meeting in his new role will take place on January 21, 2021.

The City of Salmon Arm has two Directors appointed to the CSRD Board. In addition to Lavery, the City is also represented by City of Salmon Arm Councillor Kevin Flynn, who is currently the CSRD Board Chair.

To round out the City of Salmon Arm's representatives, Councillor Louise Wallace Richmond was sworn in as the Alternate Director for Flynn, while Councillor Debbie Cannon was appointed as the Alternate Director for Lavery. 

The CSRD Board consists of 11 Directors, one each from six electoral areas, one Director representing each of the member municipalities of Sicamous, Revelstoke, and Golden plus two Directors from Salmon Arm.

Directors from the regional district's member municipalities are appointed by their respective municipal councils, while Electoral Area Directors are elected directly by the constituents in their respective areas.

View printable copy