Preliminary Election Results

On General Local Election Night, October 15, 2022, the Columbia Shuswap Regional District will be posting preliminary election results as they are compiled in real time for the Town of Golden and Electoral Area A Indoor Aquatic Centre Assent Vote (Referendum) and from Electoral Areas C, D, E and F. 

Results will begin to show up on the site as they are received by the CSRD after the polls close at 8 PM (Local time).

Preliminary results are based on the ballot accounts prepared at each of the voting places and are subject to determination of official election results by the Chief Election Officer.

Please remember to refresh your website often to view the most current data as it is posted.

Due to multiple time zones in the CSRD, the results for the Town of Golden and Electoral Area A Assent Vote (Referendum) will be available following the close of the polls at 8:00 PM Mountain Standard Time, while the remainder of the results will not be posted until after the polls close at 8:00 PM Pacific Standard Time.

Unofficial results 

The CSRD's Electoral Area Directors based on the unofficial results from the CSRD's Local Government Election:

  • Electoral Area A (Rural Golden) - Karen Cathcart (Acclaimed)
  • Electoral Area B (Rural Revelstoke) - David Brooks-Hill (Acclaimed)
  • Electoral Area C (Eagle Bay, White Lake, Tappen, Sunnybrae) - Marty Gibbons
  • Electoral Area D (Falkland, Salmon Valley, Deep Creek, Ranchero) - Dean Trumbley
  • Electoral Area E (Rural Sicamous, Malakwa) - Rhona Martin
  • Electoral Area F (North Shuswap) - Jay Simpson
  • Electoral Area G (Blind Bay, Sorrento, Notch Hill) - Natalya Melnychuk (Acclaimed)

Municipal representatives to the CSRD Board will be appointed by their respective municipal governments. There is one representative from the Town of Golden, City of Revelstoke, District of Sicamous and two from the City of Salmon Arm.

The referendum on borrowing funds to support the development of an Indoor Aquatic Centre in Golden passed with 1,172 Yes votes versus 423 No votes.

* Please note: The results are not official until certified by the Chief Election Officer.

See below for a breakdown of the preliminary election results.

Indoor Aquatic Centre Referendum - Town of Golden and Electoral Area A

“Are you in favour of the Columbia Shuswap Regional District adopting Golden and Area Aquatic Centre Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 5849, 2022, which will permit the Regional District to borrow up to $18 million over a 30-year term to be utilized towards the capital cost to construct an indoor aquatic centre as an addition to the existing Golden and District Recreation Centre?”

Polling Station Yes No
Advance Poll 445 147
Mail Ballots 26 3
Golden Civic Centre 620 234
Parson Community Hall 70 33
Chatter Creek Heliport 11 6
Total number of votes 1,172 423

Electoral Area C - Eagle Bay, White Lake, Tappen, Sunnybrae

Polling Station Marty Gibbons Nicholas Najda
Advance Poll 17 9
Mail Ballots 1 1
Eagle Bay Community Hall 57 30
Sunnybrae Hall 117 66
White Lake Community Hall 104 67
Total number of votes 296 173

Electoral Area D - Falkland, Salmon Valley, Deep Creek, Ranchero

Polling Station Rene Talbot Dean R. Trumbley
Advance Poll 4 9
Mail Ballots 4 3
Falkland Elementary School 98 162
Ranchero Elementary School 46 40
Silver Creek Elementary School 22 95
Total number of votes 174 309

Electoral Area E - Rural Sicamous, Malakwa

Polling Station Leslie Johnson Dan Letendre Rhona Martin Natalie G. Sorkilmo
Advance Poll 0 1 2 2
Mail Ballots 0 0 5 1
Swansea Point Fire Hall 0 0 11 26
Parkview Elementary School 4 5 28 51
Malakwa Learning Academy 12 4 126 88
Total number of votes 16 10 172 168

Electoral Area F - North Shuswap

Polling Station Eugene Eklund Jay Simpson
Advance Poll 5 3
Mail Ballots 2 1
Scotch Creek Fire Hall 131 197
Seymour Arm Community Hall 23 5
Lakeview Centre - Anglemont 76 87
Total number of votes 237 293