The Columbia Shuswap Regional District (CSRD) is the regional government for seven rural electoral areas and four member municipalities, Golden, Revelstoke, Sicamous and Salmon Arm, which serves more than 57,000 people in the Southern Interior of British Columbia. The region is vast and diverse, encompassing 28,929 square kilometres from the rugged peaks and glaciers in the eastern edge through Golden and Revelstoke to the more temperate landscapes of lakes, rivers and valleys in the Shuswap.

The CSRD plays a key role in providing services that can be delivered efficiently and effectively through region-wide, sub-regional or local services. The CSRD delivers 115 distinct services, maintains infrastructure and assists with financing agreements for its municipalities and electoral areas. 

The Mission of the CSRD is Two-Fold:

      it is the local government for the electoral areas of the Columbia Shuswap, responsible for providing cost-effective services to meet local service needs;

     it is the regional federation that brings together electoral areas and member municipalities to identify shared needs and opportunities, and to collaborate in the development of regional service initiatives.