Solid Waste & Recycling

Program Information

All Solid Waste Refuse Disposal Sites (landfills and transfer stations) within the Columbia Shuswap Regional District (CSRD) are operated by the CSRD. Landfill sites can be found in the CSRD municipalities of Salmon Arm, Sicamous, Revelstoke and Golden. Transfer Stations are located in Seymour Arm, Scotch Creek, Skimikin (Tappen), Glenemma, Falkland, Malakwa, Trout Lake and Parson. 

Solid Waste Management includes landfill and transfer station operation, recycling programs, and waste reduction education. The program is administered on a region-wide basis within a series of waste sheds. Waste sheds are geographic areas where solid wastes are generated and are ultimately transferred and deposited into a CSRD landfill site. The Salmon Arm waste shed includes Salmon Arm and surrounding areas as well as the communities of Seymour Arm, Scotch Creek, Skimikin, Falkland and Glenemma. The Sicamous waste shed consists of the municipality of Sicamous and surrounding area. The Revelstoke waste shed includes the municipality of Revelstoke and outlying areas including Malakwa and Trout Lake. The Golden waste shed includes Golden and outlying areas including Parson.

Solid Waste & Recycling Links  
Backyard Composting Link
Education, Outreach & Events Link
Food Waste Collection Link
Free Disposal Events Link
Illegal Dumping Link
Kickin' Compost Sales Link
Landfill Sites Link
Recycling Depots Link
Recycling Programs Link
Re-Use Centres Link
Solid Waste & Recycling FAQs Link
Solid Waste Management Plan Link

Regulatory Requirements

Programs offered and site operations are performed in accordance with:

  • CSRD Solid Waste Management Plan;
  • CSRD Landfill Sites Design and Operations Plans;
  • Operating Certificates (issued by the Ministry of Environment);
  • CSRD Bylaws and Policies; and
  • Provincial legislative requirements and generally accepted principles and practices.
​Contact Us


Year Title Electoral Area Report
2015 Skimikin Transfer Station Environmental Monitoring Annual Report 2015
Electoral Area C
2015 Solid Waste Management Plan Review 2015
All Areas
2015 Salmon Arm Landfill Environmental Monitoring Annual Report 2015
City of Salmon Arm
Electoral Area C
Electoral Area D
Electoral Area E
Electoral Area F
2015 Sicamous Landfill Environmental Monitoring Annual Report 2015
District of Sicamous
Electoral Area E
2015 Organics Diversion Strategy
All Areas