Emergency Management

Salmon Arm, Sicamous and Electoral Areas C, D, E and F

The Shuswap Emergency Program is administered by the CSRD.  It is a joint emergency program that encompasses the City of Salmon Arm, the District of Sicamous and Electoral Areas C, D, E and F.  

Golden and Electoral Area A 

The Town of Golden administers the emergency program for Electoral Area A under the Golden and Area Emergency Management Program Agreement.

Revelstoke and Electoral    Area B

The City of Revelstoke administers the emergency program for Electoral Area B under the Revelstoke and Area Emergency Management Program Agreement.

Program Information

Public safety and the well-being of citizens is a crucial function of local government.  

The CSRD is responsible for the direction and control of coordinated response to and recovery from a major emergency event or disaster.  This is accomplished by maintaining effective emergency management organizations, with trained and practiced personnel and community volunteers, as well as maintaining up to date emergency plans.

The Emergency Program Act states that “a local authority must prepare or cause to be prepared local emergency plans respecting preparation for, response to and recover from emergencies and disasters.  A local authority must establish and maintain an emergency management organization to develop and implement emergency plans and other preparedness response and recover measures”.

The CSRD's Emergency Programs do not coordinate or facilitate daily emergency response activities of the RCMP, Fire Department or BC Ambulance Service.  The programs are designed to assist these agencies with the necessary resources required for an incident once they have exhausted their own.  This may be in the form of special equipment, manpower of extraordinary resources



Title Area Type Year
Robinson Creek Debris Flow Report
Electoral Area C
Emergency Management 2017 Download
4400 Block Sunnybrae Landslide 2017
Electoral Area C
Emergency Management 2017 Download


Title Number Electoral Area
Shuswap Emergency Program Regulatory Bylaw No. 5690 5690
City of Salmon Arm
District of Sicamous
Electoral Area C
Electoral Area D
Electoral Area E
Electoral Area F